Managing Students in a Class

In Classwize, you can easily add or remove students from an active Local or Synced class to reflect who is present on the day. This article shows you how this can be done and goes through some troubleshooting steps.

If your class is a Synced class, any changes you make to who is in your class using the Modify Students class tool will be undone the next time your class syncs. If these students regularly do (or don't) attend your class, you should contact your school’s administration to have the class updated.

Adding Students to an Active Class 

  1. In the Active Local, Synced, or Monitor Mode Only Class, select Class Tools.

  1. Select Modify Students

  1. Type in a student's name and select from the list, then select Save.

  1. The student has now been added to the class.

Removing Students from an Active Class

  1. In the Active Local, Synced, or Monitor Mode Only Class, select Class Tools.

  1. Select Modify Students

  1. Select the X icon next to the student's name, then select Save.

  1. The student has now been removed from the class.

Adding or Removing Students Troubleshooting

I removed a student but they are still in the class.

  • You may need to refresh your page after removing the student.
  • Check if your class is a Local class. If the class is a Synced or Monitor Only Mode class, your changes may be undone when the class syncs or your school administration changes the class. Please speak to your local IT administrator if the problem continues.

I added a student to my class but they’re not there.

  • You may need to refresh your page after removing the student.
  • Check if your class is a Local class. If the class is a Synced or Monitor Only Mode class, your changes may be undone when the class syncs or your school administration changes the class. Please speak to your local IT administrator if the problem continues.

I don’t have time to manually add each student for Synced classrooms, what should I do?

If the students are regularly in the class, please speak to your IT administrator to manually populate the students into the class from the backend.

I have added a student but they’re not being affected by my rules.

  • If the student is a member of another Local or Synced class that is still running, the student may be affected by the rules of the other class. You may need to contact the teacher of that class and ask them to end the class.
  • If you’re certain that the student isn’t in any other classes, you can also try to stop and restart your class.  Please speak to your IT administrator if the problem continues. 
  • This also may be a syncing issue. Please speak to your IT administrator if the problem continues.

I don’t see the Modify Students option

Modify Students is an optional feature and may not be enabled by your school. Contact your school’s IT Administrator for more information.